## May 9, 2019 Sumitomo Metal Mining Co., Ltd.

### Announcement of Changes of Directors and Executive Officers

Sumitomo Metal Mining Co., Ltd. (President: Akira Nozaki) today announced the following proposed changes to its directors, executive officers and their responsibilities.

Date of Changes: June 25, 2019 (tentative)

#### Name : Nobuhiro Matsumoto

New Position	Director
Former Position	
<b>Retained Position</b>	Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive/
	General Manager of Non-Ferrous Metals Div.

#### Name : Harumasa Kurokawa

New Position	Adviser
Former Position	Director/
	Senior Managing Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive/
	General Manager of Battery Materials Div./
	General Manager of Battery Materials Project Dept., Battery Materials
	Div.
Retained Position	

#### Name: Hiroyuki Asai

New Position	Senior Managing Executive Officer
Former Position	Managing Executive Officer
Retained Position	Director/
	Qualified Executive/
	General Manager of Corporate Planning Dept.

## Name : Atsushi Idegami

New Position	Managing Executive Officer/
	General Manager of Technology Div.
Former Position	Executive Officer/
	General Manager of Advanced Materials Div.
Retained Position	Qualified Executive

### Name : Shuichi Yasukawa

New Position	
Former Position	General Manager of Human Resources Development Dept.
Retained Position	Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive/
	General Manager of CSR Dept.

# Name : Fumikazu Oshita

New Position	General Manager of Advanced Materials Div.
Former Position	Senior Deputy General Manager of Advanced Materials Div.
<b>Retained Position</b>	Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive

#### Name: Isao Abe

New Position	General Manager of Battery Materials Div.
Former Position	Senior Deputy General Manager of Battery Materials Div.
<b>Retained Position</b>	Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive

### Name : Toru Higo

New Position	Executive Officer/
	Senior Deputy General Manager of Non-Ferrous Metals Div.
Former Position	President of Sumitomo Metal Mining Philippine Holdings Corporation
<b>Retained Position</b>	Qualified Executive

#### Name : Masaru Tani

New Position	Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive/
	Senior Deputy General Manager of Mineral Resources Div.
Former Position	
Retained Position	General Manager of Administration Dept., Mineral Resources Div.

## Name : Hitofumi Okubo

New Position	Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive/
	Senior Deputy General Manager of Engineering Div.
Former Position	
Retained Position	General Manager of Facilities Technology Dept., Engineering Div.

### Name : Koji Sakamoto

New Position	Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive/
	Senior Deputy General Manager of Battery Materials Div./
	General Manager of Battery Materials Project Dept., Battery Materials
	Div.
Former Position	General Manager of Niihama Research Laboratories., Technology Div.
Retained Position	

## Name : Shuichi Ogasawara

Ţ	
New Position	Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive/
	Senior Deputy General Manager of Technology Div./
	General Manager of Planning & Administration Dept., Technology Div.
Former Position	General Manager of Package Materials Business Unit., Advanced
	Materials Div.
Retained Position	

## Name : Masaki Imamura

New Position	Adviser	
Former Position	Managing Executive Officer/	
	Qualified Executive/	
	General Manager of Technology Div.	
Retained Position		

# Name : Masahiro Kamiya

New Position	President of Sumitomo Metal Mining Philippine Holdings Corporation	
Former Position	Executive Officer/	
	Senior Deputy General Manager of Non-Ferrous Metals Div./	
	General Manager of Copper & Precious Metals Raw Materials Dept.,	
	Non-Ferrous Metals Div.	
Retained Position	Qualified Executive	

<Reference> New Corporate Officers (Date of Changes: June 25, 2019 (tentative))

### Address inquiries concerning this News Release to:

Sumitomo Metal Mining Co., Ltd. Hidenobu Tasaki, Public Relations & Investor Relations Dept. TEL: 03-3436-7705

# <u>New Corporate Officers (Date of Changes: June 25, 2019 (tentative))</u> (After the 94<sup>th</sup> ordinary general meeting of shareholders )

#### 1. Directors

Representative Director Chairman and Director	Yoshiaki Nakazato	
Representative Director President and Director	Akira Nozaki	
Director	Hiroyuki Asai	
Director	Hiroshi Asahi	
Director	Nobuhiro Matsumoto	
Outside Director	Hitoshi Taimatsu	
Outside Director	Kazuhisa Nakano	
Outside Director	Taeko Ishii	Lawyer of Ohta & Ishii Law Firm

#### 2. Audit & Supervisory Board Members

Senior Audit & Supervisory Board Member (Standing)	Kazushi Ino	
Audit & Supervisory Board Member (Standing)	Yasuyuki Nakayama	
Outside Audit & Supervisory Board Member	Junichi Kondo	
Outside Audit & Supervisory Board Member	Yuichi Yamada	Certified Public Accountant of Yuichi Yamada Certified Public Accountant Firm

#### 3. Executive Officers

President	Akira Nozaki	
Senior Managing Executive Officer	Hiroyuki Asai	General Manager of Corporate Planning Dept. In charge of Personnel Dept. and Legal Dept.
Managing Executive Officer	Masahiro Morimoto	General Manager of Finance & Accounting Dept. In charge of Secretarial Dept., Internal Audit Dept., Purchasing Dept. and Information Systems Dept.
Managing Executive Officer	Hiroshi Asahi	General Manager of Mineral Resources Div.

#### <Reference>

Managing Executive Officer	Atsushi Idegami	General Manager of Technology Div.
Executive Officer	Shuichi Yasukawa	General Manager of CSR Dept. In charge of General Affairs Dept., Human Resources Development Dept. and Public Relations & Investor Relations Dept.
Executive Officer	Fumio Mizuno	General Manager of Engineering Div.
Executive Officer	Atsushi Kaikake	General Manager of Safety & Environment Control Dept. In charge of Quality Assurance Dept.
Executive Officer	Nobuhiro Matsumoto	General Manager of Non-Ferrous Metals Div.
Executive Officer	Fumikazu Oshita	General Manager of Advanced Materials Div.
Executive Officer	Isao Abe	General Manager of Battery Materials Div.
Executive Officer	Toru Higo	Senior Deputy General Manager of Non-Ferrous Metals Div. In charge of Osaka Branch
Executive Officer	Takahiro Kanayama	General Manager of Besshi-Niihama District Div.
Executive Officer	Ryoichi Sato	Senior Deputy General Manager of Mineral Resources Div.
Executive Officer	Kazunori Takizawa	Senior Deputy General Manager of Battery Materials Div.
Executive Officer	Hiroshi Yoshida	Senior Deputy General Manager of Non-Ferrous Metals Div.
Executive Officer	Masaru Tani	Senior Deputy General Manager of Mineral Resources Div.
Executive Officer	Hitofumi Okubo	Senior Deputy General Manager of Engineering Div.
Executive Officer	Koji Sakamoto	Senior Deputy General Manager of Battery Materials Div.
Executive Officer	Shuichi Ogasawara	Senior Deputy General Manager of Technology Div.