May 8, 2020

Announcement of Changes of Directors and Executive Officers

Sumitomo Metal Mining Co., Ltd. (President: Akira Nozaki) today announced the following proposed changes to its directors, executive officers and their responsibilities.

Date of Changes: June 26, 2020 (tentative)

Name: Toru Higo

	·
New Position	Director/
	General Manager of Corporate Planning Dept.
Former Position	Senior Deputy General Manager of Non-Ferrous Metals Div.
Retained Position	Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive

Name: Manabu Kinoshita

New Position	Outside Director
Former Position	
Retained Position	

Name: Hiroyuki Asai

New Position	Adviser
Former Position	Director/
	Senior Managing Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive/
	General Manager of Corporate Planning Dept.
Retained Position	

Name: Hitoshi Taimatsu

New Position	
Former Position	Outside Director
Retained Position	

Name: Wataru Yoshida

New Position	Outside Audit & Supervisory Board Member
Former Position	
Retained Position	

Name: Junichi Kondo

New Position	
Former Position	Outside Audit & Supervisory Board Member
Retained Position	

Name: Hiroshi Asahi

New Position	Senior Managing Executive Officer
Former Position	Managing Executive Officer
Retained Position	Director/ Qualified Executive/
	General Manager of Mineral Resources Div.

Name: Shuichi Yasukawa

New Position	Managing Executive Officer
Former Position	Executive Officer
Retained Position	Qualified Executive/ General Manager of CSR Dept.

Name: Fumio Mizuno

New Position	Managing Executive Officer
Former Position	Executive Officer
Retained Position	Qualified Executive/
	General Manager of Engineering Div.

Name: Atsushi Kaikake

New Position	Managing Executive Officer
Former Position	Executive Officer
Retained Position	Qualified Executive/
	General Manager of Safety & Environment Control Dept.

Name: Nobuhiro Matsumoto

New Position	Managing Executive Officer
Former Position	Executive Officer
Retained Position	Director/ Qualified Executive/ General Manager of Non-Ferrous Metals Div.

Name: Takahiro Kanayama

New Position	General Manager of Personnel Dept.
Former Position	General Manager of Besshi-Niihama District Div.
Retained Position	Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive

Name: Kazunori Takizawa

New Position	General Manager of Advanced Materials Div.
Former Position	Senior Deputy General Manager of Battery Materials Div./ General Manager of Business Administration Dept., Battery Materials Div.
Retained Position	Executive Officer/ Qualified Executive

Name: Shuichi Ogasawara

New Position	General Manager of Technology Div.	
Former Position	Senior Deputy General Manager of Technology Div./ General Manager of Planning & Administration Dept., Technology Div.	
Retained Position	Executive Officer/ Qualified Executive	

Name: Hiromasa Oba

New Position	Executive Officer/	
	Qualified Executive/	
	General Manager of Besshi-Niihama District Div.	
Former Position	President and Representative Director of Nippon Ketjen Co., Ltd.	
Retained Position		

Name: Katsuya Tanaka

New Position	Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive/
	Senior Deputy General Manager of Battery Materials Div./
	General Manager of Business Administration Dept., Battery Materials
	Div.
Former Position	Deputy General Manager of Corporate Planning Dept.
Retained Position	

Name: Masaru Takebayashi

New Position	Executive Officer/	
	Qualified Executive	
Former Position		
Retained Position	General Manager of Toyo Smelter & Refinery, Non-Ferrous Metals Div.	

Name: Atsushi Idegami

New Position	Adviser
Former Position	Managing Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive/
	General Manager of Technology Div.
Retained Position	

Name: Fumikazu Oshita

New Position	Adviser
Former Position	Executive Officer/
	Qualified Executive/
	General Manager of Advanced Materials Div.
Retained Position	

<Reference>

New Corporate Officers (Date of Changes: June 26, 2020 (tentative))

Address inquiries concerning this News Release to:

New Corporate Officers (Date of Changes: June 26, 2020 (tentative)) (After the 95th ordinary general meeting of shareholders)

1. Directors

Representative Director Chairman and Director

Yoshiaki Nakazato

Representative Director

President and Director

Akira Nozaki

Director

Hiroshi Asahi

Director

Nobuhiro Matsumoto

Director

Toru Higo

Outside Director

Kazuhisa Nakano

Outside Director

Taeko Ishii

Lawyer of Ohta & Ishii Law Firm

Outside Director

Manabu Kinoshita

Advisor to the President of NEC Corporation

2. Audit & Supervisory Board Members

Senior Audit & Supervisory

Board Member (Standing)

Kazushi Ino

Audit & Supervisory Board

Member (Standing)

Yasuyuki Nakayama

Outside Audit &

Supervisory Board

Member

Outside Audit &

Supervisory Board

Member

Yuichi Yamada

Wataru Yoshida

Certified Public Accountant of Yuichi Yamada Certified Public

Accountant Firm

3. Executive Officers

President Akira Nozaki

Senior Managing Executive

Officer

Hiroshi Asahi

General Manager of Mineral Resources Div.

General Manager of Finance & Accounting Dept.

Managing Executive Officer Masahiro Morimoto

In charge of Secretarial Dept., Purchasing Dept. and Information

Systems Dept.

General Manager of CSR Dept.

Managing Executive Officer Shuichi Yasukawa

In charge of General Affairs Dept. and Public Relations & Investor

Relations Dept.

<Reference>

Managing Executive Officer	Fumio Mizuno	General Manager of Engineering Div.
Managing Executive Officer	Atsushi Kaikake	General Manager of Safety & Environment Control Dept. In charge of Quality Assurance Dept.
Managing Executive Officer	Nobuhiro Matsumoto	General Manager of Non-Ferrous Metals Div.
Executive Officer	Isao Abe	General Manager of Battery Materials Div.
Executive Officer	Toru Higo	General Manager of Corporate Planning Dept. In charge of Legal Dept. and Internal Audit Dept.
Executive Officer	Takahiro Kanayama	General Manager of Personnel Dept. In charge of Human Resources Development Dept.
Executive Officer	Ryoichi Sato	Senior Deputy General Manager of Mineral Resources Div.
Executive Officer	Kazunori Takizawa	General Manager of Advanced Materials Div.
Executive Officer	Hiroshi Yoshida	Senior Deputy General Manager of Non-Ferrous Metals Div. In charge of Osaka Branch
Executive Officer	Masaru Tani	Senior Deputy General Manager of Mineral Resources Div.
Executive Officer	Hitofumi Okubo	Senior Deputy General Manager of Engineering Div.
Executive Officer	Koji Sakamoto	Senior Deputy General Manager of Battery Materials Div.
Executive Officer	Shuichi Ogasawara	General Manager of Technology Div.
Executive Officer	Hiromasa Oba	General Manager of Besshi-Niihama District Div.
Executive Officer	Katsuya Tanaka	Senior Deputy General Manager of Battery Materials Div.
Executive Officer	Masaru Takebayashi	General Manager of Toyo Smelter & Refinery, Non-Ferrous Metals Div.